The Seven factors of Enlightenment

Mindfulness | smṛti. To maintain awareness of reality, in particular the teachings.
Investigation | dharmapravicaya of the nature of reality.
Energy | vīrya also determination, effort
Joy or rapture | prīti
Relaxation or tranquility | prashrabdhi of both body and mind
Concentration | samádhi a calm, one-pointed state of mind.
Equanimity | upeksa To accept reality as-it-is (yathā-bhuta) without craving or aversion.

The Seven Factors of Enlightenment are essential qualities that lead to awakening and liberation in Buddhism. They are mindfulness, investigation of phenomena, energy, joy, tranquility, concentration, and equanimity.

To practice mindfulness, one must be fully present and aware of each moment, observing thoughts, feelings, and sensations without judgment. Investigation of phenomena involves examining the nature of reality and understanding the impermanence of all things.

Energy is the effort and determination to cultivate positive qualities and overcome obstacles on the path to enlightenment. Joy arises from the practice of mindfulness and brings a sense of happiness and contentment.

Tranquility is a state of calmness and peace that comes from letting go of attachments and desires. Concentration involves focusing the mind on a single object or meditation practice to develop clarity and insight.

Equanimity is the ability to remain balanced and unaffected by the ups and downs of life, accepting things as they are without attachment or aversion. By cultivating these seven factors, one can progress on the path to enlightenment and experience true freedom and liberation.

We need your consent to load the translations

We use a third-party service to translate the website content that may collect data about your activity. Please review the details and accept the service to view the translations.